Vietnam visa is a document issued by the Vietnam Immigration Department (under the Ministry of Public Security) allowing its holder to enter Vietnam. Vietnamese citizens holding Vietnam passports do not need a visa to enter back into Vietnam. Foreign nationals traveling to Vietnam must have a valid visa issued by one of the Vietnamese diplomatic missions or the Immigration Department, unless they are from one of the countries exempted from visa. Vietnam’s visa policy is determined by the Government based on the Law on entry, exit, transit, and residence of foreigners in Vietnam promulgated by the National Assembly.

In response to the needs of tourists and the urgent request of tour operators, the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism has proposed to the Government to submit to the National Assembly for permission to pilot the issuance of electronic visas for foreigners. Vietnam officially started using the electronic visa system from February 1, 2017.

With the e-visa, the travelers can enter Vietnam via 33 ports of entry, including 16 land-ports as follows: 

  • Bo Y Landport
  • Cha Lo Landport
  • Cau Treo Landport
  • Huu Nghi Landport
  • Ha Tien Landport
  • Lao Bao Landport
  • Lao Cai Landport
  • La Lay Landport
  • Moc Bai Landport
  • Mong Cai Landport
  • Nam Can Landport
  • Na Meo Landport
  • Song Tien Landport
  • Tinh Bien Landport
  • Tay Trang Landport
  • Xa Mat Landport

For example, with Vietnam e visa for land crossing from China, you can enter Vietnam through Mong Cai Landport, Huu Nghi Landport, and Lao Cai Landport.

Beside, e visa Vietnam land crossing is also applied for 8 international airports in Vietnam, including:

  • Cat Bi International Airport (Hai Phong)
  • Cam Ranh International Airport (Khanh Hoa)
  • Can Tho International Airport
  • Da Nang International Airport
  • Noi Bai International Airport (Hanoi)
  • Phu Bai International Airport (Hue)
  • Phu Quoc International Airport (Phu Quoc)
  • Tan Son Nhat International Airport (Ho Chi Minh City)

… and 9 seaports:

  • Chan May Seaport
  • Da Nang Seaport
  • Duong Dong Seaport
  • Hon Gai Seaport
  • Hai Phong Seaport
  • Nha Trang Seaport
  • Quy Nhon Seaport
  • Ho Chi Minh City Seaport
  • Vung Tau Seaport

More about Vietnam e-visa